About California Oak Mortality Task Force

The California Oak Mortality Task Force (COMTF) is a non-profit group working to manage Sudden Oak Death in California. COMTF was formed in August 2000 by merging the efforts of two separate state organizations: The California Forest Pest Council (CFPC) and the California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection (CDF). The resulting Task Force is a consensus-driven coalition of research/educational institutions, public agencies, non-profit organizations, and private interests. Its primary purpose is to coordinate research, management, monitoring, education, and public policy efforts addressing elevated levels of oak mortality in California resulting from Sudden Oak Death (SOD). As we learn more about P. ramorum, our concern has broadened to include the other diseases it causes.

The Task Force goals are to:

  • Minimize the impact and spread of Phytophthora ramorum on natural, agricultural, and human communities.
  • Coordinate an integrated response by all interested parties to address Phytophthora ramorum.
  • Serve as liaison to local, state, national, and international groups.

Contact List

Browse all contacts below by area of responsibility.

Coordinating Staff

Katie Palmieri Public Information Officer University of California, Berkeley, Center for Forestry 145 Mulford Hall, #3114Berkeley, CA 94720-3114 530/344-7530 wk510/847-5482 cell530/344-1141 fxkpalmieri@berkeley.edu
Dan Stark Northern Outreach Coordinator University of California Cooperative Extension 5630 South Broadway Eureka, CA95503-6999 707/445-7351 stark@ucdavis.edu
Janice Alexander Outreach Coordinator University of California Cooperative Extension 1682 Novato Blvd., Ste 150BNovato, CA 94947-7018 415/499-4204 wk415/499-4209 fxjalexander@ucdavis.edu

Task Force Chair and Special Advisors

Mark Stanley Chair California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection 530/409-0686 wk markstanley@comcast.net
Tony Linegar Agricultural Commissioner,Mendocino County 890 North Bust St., Ukiah, CA 95482 707/463-4208 wk linegart@co.mendocino.ca.us
Susan Frankel Sudden Oak Death Research Program Manager,USDA-Forest ServicePacific Southwest Research Station Mailing address:P.O. Box 245Berkeley, CA 94701 510/559-6472 wk510/559-6440 fax sfrankel@fs.fed.us
Doug McCreary Program Mgr,Integrated Hardwood RangeMgmt ProgramUC Cooperative Extension 8279 Scott Forbes Road, Browns Valley,CA, 95918 530/639-8807 wk530/639-2419 faxddmccreary@ucdavis.edu

Task Force Committees

Biomass

Don Gasser Fire Smart Defensible Space, Inc. President 4071 Old Sonoma Rd., Napa, CA 94559 707/253-0576 wk707/253-0576 fx dgasser@firesmartds.com

Education

Katie Palmieri University of California, Center for Forestry 145 MulfordHall, #3114Berkeley, CA 94720-3114 530/344-7530 wk510/847-5482 cell530/344-1141 fx kpalmieri@berkeley.edu
Janice Alexander University of California Cooperative Extension 1682 Novato Blvd., Ste 150BNovato,CA 94947-7018 415/499-4204 wk415/499-4209 fx jalexander@ucdavis.edu

Funding

Scott Johnson Chair,California Forest Pest Council 841 West Elkhorn Blvd. Rio Linda, CA 94973 916/991-9808 wk916/991-1837 fx johnsonsa@jtfco.com

Management

Jack Marshall Forest Pathologist,Department of Forestry and Fire Protection -Pest Management 2690 N. State StreetUkiah, CA 95482 707/462-5886 ph707/462-1076 fx Jack.Marshall@fire.ca.gov
Don Owen EntomologistDepartment of Forestry and Fire Protection 6105 Airport RoadRedding, CA 96002 530/224-2494 wk530/224-4841 fx Don.Owen@fire.ca.gov

Monitoring

Yana Valachovic Forest Advisor, Humboldt and Del Norte Counties University of California Cooperative Extension5630 S. BroadwayEureka, CA 95503 707/445-7351 ph 707-444-9334 fxyvala@ucdavis.edu
Walter Mark Professor,Cal Poly State University 125 Swanton RoadDavenport, CA 95017 831/427-1718 wk931/459-6956wmark@calpoly.edu

Nursery

Karen Suslow Program Manager National Ornamental Research Site at Dominican University in CA, 50 Acacia Ave, San Rafael, CA  94901 530-681-5538    karen.suslow@dominican.edu

Regulations

Carolyn Pizzo(Federal) Plant Health Director, USDA Animal & Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) 650 Capital Mall Ste. 6-400Sacramento, CA 95814 916/930-5506 wk916/930-5518 fx carolyn.pizzo@aphis.usda.gov
Nick Condos(State) Branch Chief, California Dept. of Food and Agriculture (CDFA) 1220 N Street Rm A-372 Sacramento, CA 95814 916/654-0312 wk916/654-0986 fx ncondos@cdfa.ca.gov
Tony Linegar(County) Agricultural Commissioner, Mendocino County 890 N. BushUkiah, CA 95482-3745 707/463-4208 wk707/463-0240 fx linegart@co.mendocino.ca.us

Research

Susan Frankel SuddenOak Death Research Program Manager,USDA-Forest ServicePacific Southwest Research Station Mailing address:P.O. Box 245Berkeley, CA 94701 510/559-6472 wk510/559-6440 fax sfrankel@fs.fed.us
Dave Rizzo Assoc. Prof. of Plant PathologyDept. of Plant BiologyUC Davis One Shields AveDavis, CA 95616 530/754-9255530/754-5674 dmrizzo@ucdavis.edu

Treasurer

Steve Jones Deputy Chief for Forestry Assistance, Dept. of Forestry and Fire Protection (retired) sjones.forester@gmail.com

Science Advisors

Matteo Garbelotto Adjunct Professor, Extension SpecialistUC Berkeley 151 HilgardHall, #3110 Berkeley, CA 94720-3110 510/643-4282 wk matteog@berkeley.edu
Dave Rizzo Assoc. Prof. of Plant PathologyDept. of Plant BiologyUC Davis One Shields AveDavis, CA 95616 530/754-9255530/754-5674 dmrizzo@ucdavis.edu